Results of the 2016 Eastwood/Hills Annual Literary Competition

Results for Short Story
Barbara Haworth and Mary Milton

First Place
Night Runner                                                       Marion Lucy Thomas

Second Place
Exit Left                                                                Cindy Broadbent

Highly Commended
Old Soldier Waiting                                             Jennie Linnane
Losing Linda                                                        Kerrin O’Sullivan

Spinning Leaves                                                   Janeen Samuel
The Unravelling                                                    Bonny Cotter

Judges Report Short Story 2016


Results for Poetry
Judges: Anne Benjamin and Julie Thorndyke

First Place
Night-stepping                                                   Beverley George

Second Place
War                                                                       E. Speers

Harley                                                                   Jules Leigh Koch
The Memory Castle                                             Damen O’Brien

Judges Poetry Report 2016


Results for Memoir
Judges: Anne Howard and Frances Moon

First Place
18 Keppochill Rd                                                   Marie Tucker

Second Place  
Tap Shoes                                                               Marie Tucker

Highly Commended
Colours of Childhood                                             Colleen Russell
Promise                                                                   Jill Brew

Mrs Frank’s Thistles                                              David Bentley
The Twenty Dollar Ceiling                                     Janeen Samuel
Guardians                                                               David Bentley
The Paint is Still Wet                                              Carmel Lillis

Judges Report Memoir 2016 


Results for Pauline Walsh Award for Short, Short Story
Laura Davis and Alan Russel

First Place
The Pledge                                                                 Gavin Austin

Second Place  
Doing Everything Once                                             Kerrin O’Sullivan

Highly Commended        
Room 212, Ward 4 South                                         Kerrin O’Sullivan
Transition                                                                  David Brelsford
Big Words                                                                   Helen Lyne

Forces Conspired                                                        Jan Foster
The Legend of Konrad and His Dogs                       Mike Woodhouse

Judges Report Short Short Story 2016 V2


Results for Boree Log Award for Bush Verse
 Brian Beesley

First Place 
Wills                                                                                  Brenda Joy

Highly Commended 
When Bobby Comes Marching Home                             Tom McIlveen
Bluey                                                                                  Tom McIlveen
Coal Mine Convict                                                             Brenda Joy

From Alice Springs                                                            Hugh Allan
Bushed                                                                               Carol Heuchan

Judges Report Boree Log Award 2016